When was the LPGA founded? [Infographic]


Share this Image On Your Site

The LPGA is the Ladies’ Professional Golf Association. It is one of the oldest running women’s professional sports organizations in the country.

It was founded in 1950 by these 13 remarkable women:

• Alice Bauer
• Patty Berg
• Bettye Danoff
• Helen Dettweiler
• Marlene Bauer Hagge
• Helen Hicks
• Opal Hill
• Betty Jameson
• Sally Sessions
• Marilynn Smith
• Shirley Spork
• Louise Suggs
• Babe Zaharias

The LPGA focuses mainly on tournaments, including these 5 annual championships:

• ANA Inspiration
• Women’s PGA Championship
• U.S. Women’s Open
• Ricoh Women’s British Open
• The Evian Championship

Donna White, instructor at Keiser University College of Golf, was an LPGA tour player from 1975-1992 and holds 3 LPGA tour titles as well as 4 LPGA awards, including the 2006 “Ellen Griffin Teaching Award”.

Ready to put your golf education into experienced hands? Contact us today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Comments are moderated. If you don't see your comment, please be patient. Required fields are marked with *.